# **Western Region Officers**

President Jack Elliot, University of Arizona, (Term ends 2009)

President -Elect Billye Foster, University of Arizona, (Term ends 2009) Secretary Steve Fraze, Texas Tech University, (Term ends 2009)

Past President Greg Thompson, Oregon State University, (Term ends 2009)

# **Western Region Committees**

### **Communication Committee/Member Services**

Kim Bellah	term ends Summer 2009 (elect replacement in April 2009)
Rudy Tarpley	term ends Summer 2009 (elect replacement in April 2009)
Cindy Akers	term ends Summer 2010 (elect replacement in April 2010)
Lynn Martindale	term ends Summer 2010 (elect replacement in April 2010)
Heather Jepsen	term ends Summer 2011 (elect replacement in April 2011)
Shelly Sinton	term ends Summer 2011 (elect replacement in April 2011)

# **Program Improvement Committee (posters)**

Greg Thompson	term ends Summer 2009 (elect replacement in April 2009)
Reynold Gardner	term ends Summer 2009 (elect replacement in April 2009)
Wendy Warner	term ends Summer 2010 (elect replacement in April 2010)
Mike Spiess	term ends Summer 2010 (elect replacement in April 2010)
Kevin Williams	term ends Summer 2011 (elect replacement in April 2011)
Kyle McGregor	term ends Summer 2011 (elect replacement in April 2011)

### **Professional Development Committee**

Vern Luft	term ends Summer 2009 (elect replacement in April 2009)
Brian Warnick	term ends Summer 2009 (elect replacement in April 2009)
Ben Swan	term ends Summer 2010 (elect replacement in April 2010)
Marty Frick	term ends Summer 2010 (elect replacement in April 2010)
Shannon Arnold	term ends Summer 2011 (elect replacement in April 2011)
Quintin Molina	term ends Summer 2011 (elect replacement in April 2011)

### **Research Committee**

Cary Trexler	term ends Summer 2009 (elect replacement in April 2009)
Steve Fraze	term ends Summer 2009 (elect replacement in April 2009)
Jim Knight	term ends Summer 2010 (elect replacement in April 2010)
Steve Rocca	term ends Summer 2010 (elect replacement in April 2010)
Lori Moore	term ends Summer 2011 (elect replacement in April 2011)
David Doerfert	term ends Summer 2011 (elect replacement in April 2011)

# Journal of Agricultural Education Editing-Managing Board

David Doerfert	term ends Summer 2009 (elect replacement in April 2009)
Matt Baker	term ends Summer 2010 (elect replacement in April 2010)
Lori Moore	term ends Summer 2011 (elect replacement in April 2011)

### Journal of Agricultural Education Editorial Review Board

Ed Franklin	term ends Summer 2009 (elect replacement in April 2009)
Kim Dooley	term ends Summer 2009 (elect replacement in April 2009)
Wendy Warner	term ends Summer 2010 (elect replacement in April 2010)
Steve Fraze	term ends Summer 2010 (elect replacement in April 2010)
Steve Rocca	term ends Summer 2011 (elect replacement in April 2011)
Mike Swann	term ends Summer 2011 (elect replacement in April 2011)

### **Western Region Awards**

#### **Innovative Posters**

#### Winner

Enhancing the Rigor and Relevance in Lessons
Daniel J. Jansen and Gregory W. Thompson

Oregon State University

# 1<sup>st</sup> Runner-up

The "CASE" for Rigorous and Relevant Curriculum in Agricultural Education

Daniel J. Jansen, Brad J. Schloesser, and Robert W. Clark

Oregon State University, South Central College, and NCAE

# 2<sup>nd</sup> Runner-up

The Common Teaching Unit: Improving Agricultural Technology Management Laboratory Instruction

**During Student Teacher Preservice Training** 

Edward Franklin, Glen Miller

University of Arizona

#### **Research Posters**

#### Winner

An Exploratory Analysis of the Growing Ruralpolitan Population

Morgan Newsom, David L. Doerfert, Jessica Carr, Scott Burris, Matt Baker

Texas Tech University

### 1<sup>st</sup> Runner-up

FFA Diversity - Establishing Benchmarks and Tracking Developing Trends

Michael Spiess

California State University, Chico

### 2<sup>nd</sup> Runner-up

<u>Teacher Perceptions of Agricultural Mechanics Teacher Preparation</u>

Justin Pickard and Michael Spiess

California State University, Chico

### **Research Paper Presentations**

#### Winner

<u>iPod Technology in Graduate Agricultural Education and Communications Courses: A Comparison of Adopters and Non-Adopters</u>

Karin Fritz, Todd Brashears, Cindy Akers, Scott Burris, & Christine Alvarado, Texas Tech University

### 1<sup>st</sup> Runner-up

<u>Pacific Northwest Agricultural Educators' Perceived Teacher Efficacy toward Enhancing Mathematics</u>

Daniel J. Jansen & Gregory W. Thompson, Oregon State University

# 2<sup>nd</sup> Runner-up

<u>Perceptions of Outside Stakeholders: How Important Are Leadership Skills?</u> *Lori L. Moore, University of Idaho Kimberly A. Gardner, Del Monte Foods* 

#### **Individual Awards**

Outstanding Young Member Lori Moore, Idaho

Distinguished Service Award Mike Spiess, Chico State

Distinguished Research Award Brenda Seevers, New Mexico State

International Award Kim Dooley, Texas A&M

Distinguished Teaching Greg Thompson, Oregon State